Fishing : Fisheries Observer Model Conservation & Management Measure Published

Draft Proposal for Model Western & Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC)

 Human Rights at Sea publishes the fourth in a series of independent international reports and reviews concerning the safety, security and well-being of Fisheries Observers in the Western and Central Pacific region titled: ‘Draft Proposal for Model Western & Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC) Conservation & Management Measure (CMM) on Human Rights and Labour Rights Protections for Fisheries Observers’ Safety, Security and Well-being‘.

Increased protection of Fisheries Observers working at sea

The peer reviewed document comprises a model CMM specifically targeted towards the increased protection of Fisheries Observers working at sea.

It addresses the suggested text and detail for the comprehensive application of core human and labour rights standards and protections that is being passed to the 26 Member Commission.

Newly proposed text

The newly proposed text comes with explanatory comment, and is based on the underlying, fundamental and founding principle that; ‘human rights apply at sea as they do on land’.

It is aimed at assisting WCPFC Members with individual and collective development of supporting policies and legislation for Observer safety, security and well-being, thereby building on the important development work already undertaken by Members in this area.

Ten Recommendations

The independent review draws on the previously proposed ‘Ten Recommendations’ from the initial 1 July 2020 Human Rights at Sea Report: ‘Fisheries Observer Deaths at Sea, Human Rights and the Role and Responsibilities of Fisheries Organisations’, the follow-on 11 November 2020 Report: ‘Developing Recommendations and Policy in Support of Fisheries Observers’ Safety, Security and Wellbeing’, and the associated 11 November 2020 Survey Report: ‘Understanding the Working Conditions of Western and Central Pacific Ocean Fisheries Observers: A Baseline Survey’.

WCPFC Members

Australia, China, Canada, Cook Islands, European Union, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, France, Indonesia, Japan, Kiribati, Republic of Korea, Republic of Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Chinese Taipei, Tonga, Tuvalu, United States of America, Vanuatu.

press  release

Show More
Back to top button
error: Content is Protected !!
%d bloggers like this: