HomeOrganisations & Navigation

Organisations : Congratulates Port of Rotterdam for renewing PERS

7ports projects in the running for the EPSO award 2020


ESPO congratulates Port of Rotterdam for renewing its EcoPorts’ Port environmental Review system (PERS), the only port sector specific environmental management standard.

Being PERS certified requires amongst others that the port increases transparency by making its environmental report publicly available. It also implies that the port is effectively monitoring environmental challenges and is actively improving its environmental management. A significant share of the 112 EcoPorts members have acquired PERS, compliance of which is independently assessed by Lloyd’s Register. The certificate has a validity of two years, after which it is revised. This ensures that the port continues to meet the requirements.

“It is no secret that the Port of Rotterdam is in many ways a frontrunner when it comes to engagements in environmental sustainability. By renewing its PERS certification the Port of Rotterdam proves that transparency and monitoring of environmental performance are important tools of its environmental commitment. It also shows its support for the Ecoports network and its tools. Every port adhering to the network and attaining PERS certification strengthens the network. We are very grateful to have Rotterdam on board ESPO’s most important bottom up initiative,” says ESPO’s Secretary General, Isabelle Ryckbost.

Eric van der Schans, Port of Rotterdam Environmental Affairs Director 

“The renewal of the PERS certificate by the Port of Rotterdam is an important signal that the only port-specific standard available is well recognised and preferred by the port sector. It also shows that major European ports are committed to working with relevant applicable environmental management systems (EMS). To have a port’s environmental performance certified by environmental standards such as PERS factors in when insurance companies calculate premiums, and is evidence of port’s continued efforts to contribute to the greening of the supply chain,” says EcoPorts Coordinator, Valter Selén.

The following seven port projects will be competing for the ESPO Award 2020: Port of Oulu (Finland), Thessaloniki Port Authority (Greece), Port Authority of Lisbon (Portugal), Algeciras Port Authority (Spain), Puertos del Estado (Spain), Port of Amsterdam (the Netherlands) and Port of Rotterdam (the Netherlands) (in alphabetical order by country).

The theme of this 12th edition of the ESPO Award is “Enhancing the port-city relationship by encouraging innovators and local start-ups to be part of the port ecosystem”. The ESPO Award 2020 will go to the port managing body that has developed a successful strategy to attract innovation and local start-ups to the port and thus matches supply and demand for innovative solutions for the port and its stakeholders. The winning port will demonstrate to what extent this strategy has led not only to stimulating innovation in the port, but also making the port ecosystem an attractive place for innovative ideas and local young start-up talents.

ESPO members could send their applications until Friday 26th June. The ESPO Award winning port will be selected by an independent jury of international experts, under the Chairmanship of Pat Cox, former President of the European Parliament and TEN-T Coordinator. The winner will be announced at the ESPO Award Ceremony and Dinner taking place on 10 November at Les Brigittines in Brussels.

The European Sea Ports Organisation ESPO  is the principal interface between European seaports and the European institutions and its policy makers.

About the ESPO award

The ESPO Award was established in 2009 to promote innovative projects of port authorities that improve social integration of ports, especially with the city or wider community in which they are located. In this way, the Award aims to stimulate the sustainable development of European ports and their cities.

Previous winners of the Award are the Port of Gijón (2009), the Port of Helsinki (2010), the Ports of Stockholm (2011), the Port of Genoa (2012), the Port of Antwerp (2013), the Port of Koper (2014), Port of Dublin (2015), BremenPorts (2016) and Guadeloupe Ports Caraïbes (2017), Port of Rotterdam (2018), Port of Dover (2019 – picture).

Press release

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button